I never thought she’d look so good in a skirt…

Well winter is officially here in New England, sort of. The weather has been strange and the temperature has been like a roller coaster. We did have a stretch of some arctic cold that came rolling through and the temps dropped to -15F,  however earlier this week it was almost 60F wicked weird right. Anyhow, with the extreme cold forecasted, we finally decided to build a long overdue skirt system. So we spent New Years Day constructing it. It is very basic, the materials cost $0, and it works fairly well.

We used some 1×2 pine and an old tarp. Jenny measured and cut the wood on the chop saw and I screwed the frame together.  The height we needed to get was 21″ so the uprights were cut at 19″ we decided to space them at 19″ as well. Laid the old tarp out over the frame, pulled it tight and used a hammer tacker to fasten it to the frame. Then we screwed the framing together around the Mallard, and built a little cover to go over the rear bumper and around the ladder.

Within the next few days we got hit with winter storm Hercules, and brutally cold temps. Now all we have for heat are two oil filled electric radiators which work very well. And with thanks to mother nature we had some extra insulation to pile up around the skirt and cab.  It was chilly in here, but with some layers and a blanket we were nice and cozy.

The tiny life has been very good to us and we are loving (almost) every minute of it. Something you don’t know about us is I had been out of work for a few months. I was working in the property insurance industry. The WORST job and company ever,  I despised it. And due to a car accident, Jenny has also been out of work. I had been looking for work and had a few tempting offers, but thanks to my current living situation, and Jenny’s support, I was able to hold off till I found the perfect job for me.

So, I recently started a new job, woodworking with the best company I have ever had the pleasure to work for! The employees are always smiling, the company treats the employees like no other I have seen, I LOVE what I do, and we can start saving again for our land and tiny house.  Had we not been in our current tiny living situation I would have had to take a job that I would not have been happy with. It means so much to me being able to do something I love and be happy doing it. Life too short to not love what you are doing with it.

Thank you tiny life, you are the best.

Oh yea check out what Jenny’s lil’ bro got us for Christmas, how awesome right!

Camper Ornament

4 thoughts on “I never thought she’d look so good in a skirt…

    • Ya know, sometimes it seems like winter might be over and then bam. Polar vortex. Gotta love New England 🙂 the skirt definitely helps keep our feet a lot warmer especially with all this snow coming down right now. And thanks, the job is great!

  1. I love your project! My name is Whitney, I am completing a Certificate at Yestermorrow Design Build school in Warren, VT. For my project I am researching the availability of homeowners insurance for tiny homes. If you own a tiny home please take a few moments to fill out this survey. Thank you for your time! https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/DXXW3X3

    • Thanks so much! Its great to hear from someone at Yestermorrow. Justin is actually a licensed insurance adjuster and has done some research on “homeowners” insurance for tiny homes. Insuring them can be tricky but if you have a good agent that can… lets say creatively interpret and write a policy it is possible. Sometimes you can get away with insuring as an RV if the construction includes just a toilet (from what I understand composting toilets are included), however some insurance carriers do not insure RV’s as a full time residence. Others consider a tiny home a mobile home based on the building material/framing. Mobile home policies offer basically the same type of coverage as homeowners policy. In addition to your standard coverage, wind, hail, water, etc, it can include coverage for personal property, contents, and more. As for actual home owners insurance that area is still a bit grey. If you are legally living in a tiny home than its probably been approved, inspected, and built to code therefore you should be able to get coverage. Best of luck on your project and Certificate. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

